My name is Juliana De Angelis. I was born in 1978 to an Italian father and a German mother and from an early age I had the privilege to learn that every single thing in the real world has more than one name, that often there is no 1:1 equivalent and that faithfulness and beauty do not always go hand in hand.

This is how I started, first in a spontaneous way and later methodically, to act as a “bridge” between one linguistic-cultural universe and another, to sharpen my listening abilities as well as try and reproduce written, verbal and non-verbal communication while at the same time conveying also the deeper meaning, in order to bring to the surface also the unspoken, the implied, the unexpressed, what lies behind, beneath, beyond words, “between the lines”.
After my A-levels at the “Liceo classico” (focus on the humanities) I enrolled at the S.S.L.M.I.T. (Institute of Modern Languages for Interpreters and Translators) of the University of Trieste, the leading institution in Italy in the field of language education. In 2001 I was awarded in Luxembourg the 1st prize of the European contest for students of translation faculties organized by Euroscript S.à.r.l. and the European Commission, including a scholarship and internship. In 2003 I received my Master’s degree with first-class honours in Translation studies in German, English and Dutch (my mother tongue being Italian). In 2004/2005 I attended the German class of the S.E.T.L. (European School of Literary Translation) founded by Magda Olivetti, who organized at “Città della Scienza” in Naples the post-graduate course “Il Traduttore letterario” – a first class

workshop where I was given the opportunity to learn the tools of the trade of editorial translation: from the meticulous work on texts to creative writing to a group-translation of a book to an internship at a publishing house (in my case Marsilio Editori, Venice).

Since 2003 I have been working as a freelance translator and conference interpreter in Italy and abroad. My working languages are Italian, German, English, French and Dutch.

Curious, fond of travelling and interested in encounters with other peoples, civilizations and landscapes, I have also acquired basic linguistic competences in Hungarian (Debreceni Nyári Egyetem, 2005) and in Hindi (University of Turin, 2007/08). Reading, art and anthropology are among my main interests.
I live between the Island of Ischia (Gulf of Naples, Italy), where I have grown, and Berlin (Germany), happy to shuttle between two worlds that are part of me and to be able to “feel the pulse” of both the literature and the living language of both countries.

My detailed CV is available on request.